My experience on Hacktoberfest 2022

My experience on Hacktoberfest 2022

Welcome folks!

Well, thanks for visiting my blog and let's begin my Hacktoberfest2022 journey! ๐ŸŽ‰

Introduction

Hacktoberfest is a month long event organized by Digital Ocean in the month October. Every year it is organized to encourage the contributors to contribute in open source repository(aka repo) that are maintained and nourished by talented maintainers all over the world. This year it's the 9th time Digital Ocean has organized Hactoberfest 2022 and there had been a lot of changes.

How to p__?

The first question that would come to your mind is how to participate?

Since hacktoberfest runs only on the month of October, you can only participate in this period. All you need is to register yourself on hacktoberfest website through github/gitlab account. After registering yourself you are ready contribute. I would recommend you joining the discord channel and look after the project sharing section, you will get a ton of repos link to contribute. Since github is the most popular platform 90% of the projects are hosted in github. Do check whether the repository has a hactoberfest2022 or hacktoberfest tag, if it does then go ahead and contribute to it. Create an issue regarding your contribution, how you would address it and mention the pros of it. It would be easy for the project maintainer to read and assign you asap. After you are assigned, go ahead and contribute.

Read the beginners guide to get started so that you can get a better idea about the fest and how to contribute in projects. Also there many youtube videos which you many refer to know in a better way.

Note: check your progress in your hacktoberfest website dashboard.

My Experience

This is my second time contributing in hacktoberfest. Due to festivals and ceremonies I was busy in celebrating and spending time with relatives but all thanks to the hacktoberfest policy, you get one month to contribute. This time the rules was a bit strict compared to last year, you have to make a quality contribution. I was curious about the latest policy so I tried making a low quality contribution which got excluded after 2 days. In the first 2-5 days I researched some repos which would be suitable for me to contribute during the period. My first contribution was creating a contributing markdown file which the repo was missing, this basically would provide new comers who are new to the project have the basic principles of contribution to the project. After a day this it was finally accepted by the hacktoberfest team and I got my first contribution badge. Likewise the second, third and the fourth one was accepted after 13-20 days of starting of the event.

Untitled design(1).png

You will have to be in top 40,000 contributors around the world in order to receive hacktoberfest t-shirt and goodies. Luckily, I was in the list of top 40,000 contributors. I received a link to enter my delivering address. A confirmation was sent to my email account to track my goodies status. That's it, the end of the event.

Conclusion

Is this the end to open source? not at all. Don't do open source for a t-shirt or swags rather it should be for your personal growth. There are tons of programs in open source i.e. GSOC, MLH Fellowship, Outreachy, etc where you will learn as well as earn stipend and swags. If want to know more about Open Source and how to get started read here.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Yuvraj Chhetri by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย